European Democratic Citizenship Awards 2015

Media initiative of the Year
  • EAVI developed and produced a series of short audiovisual products about media literacy and the everyday use we make of media devices such as tablets and smartphones. EAVI is an independent, non-profit international association based in Brussels, which encompasses passion for the media and the people with sound knowledge of media literacy.

 

  • Comics for Equality uses the innovative and attractive educational tools of comics produced by second generation of migrants and migrants to foster intercultural dialogue and promote a plural society, respecting and enhancing diversity among young people in Europe. In this way, the point of view of migrants themselves is disseminated among young people promoting empathy and inclusiveness.

 

  • Liceulice project was launched (2010) by a coalition of civil associations and individuals. The core activity is publishing the street-magazine Liceulice (25 issues; over 80 000 copies) devoted to social topics, democratic values, social inclusion promotion, civil society empowerment and advocating for a social change; and magazine distribution through the sellers network, consisted of marginalised groups’ members.

 

  • VoxEurop is a not-for-profit multilingual European news and debate website. It took over Presseurop.eu in May 2014, when it was shut after the EU subsidy ended. VoxEurop is run by a team of volunteer professional journalists and translators. It has a unique feature: citizen involvement by means of discussion, article proposals, and comment translation.
Personality of the Year
  • Lorraine McIlrath has worked at NUI Galway for a decade and within that time she has successfully enabled the development of a civic engagement and practice across NUI Galway giving thousands of students annually an opportunity to be involved in community and civic activities. In addition, she has secured funding nationally and at a European level to support the ongoing development of civic engagement in Ireland.

 

  • Marsida Bandilli mirrors the model of a young person who is fond of the idea that leadership starts with the ability to talk the language, and empower young people. Through becoming a mentor for international volunteers in Beyond Barriers organization, she was able to easily learn about cultural differences, and use these perceptions to inspire many young people for playing an active and vital role into society.

 

  • Bojana Golubović. For the past year, Bojana, as a teacher of philosophy and a debate trainer has been locally engaged in raising awareness of the problem of violence among youngsters. Opening the path of various methodology aiming towards resolving this issue and advocating the popularisation of science with other teachers and students, she has opened the new chapter in everyday teaching.

 

  • Aleksandra Davidovska (known online as Helga Rubinstein) has left her work and almost left her home since May 2015 to dedicate her entire energy, time, connections and money to support the refugees and asylum seekers that cross in the FYR of Macedonia every day. More than 1000 people from Syria, Afghanistan, Somalia, Iraq etc. cross the Balkans each day facing many degrading situations that step on their modest dignity as human beings.
NGO of the Year
  • Ministarstvo prostora is a Serbian non-governmental organisation promoting “the right to the city” and fostering citizens’ participation in urban development and urban resources management. Among its key activities, they launched the Ne da(vi)mo beograd initiative, mobilising thousands of citizens against the “Belgrade Waterfront” project.

 

  • In Loco is a non-profit private association. Among its thematic areas of activity, we enhance the promotion of the Participatory Budgeting initiative, a new model of democratic governance, developed mostly at municipal level, within which citizens can decide how to spend a part of the money available for public investment.

 

  • Youthnet Hellas is a non-governmental organisation that aims to engage young people at different levels through innovative activities. It aims to promote young people’s active participation, information, social inclusion and active citizenship in community life. The organisation is innovative in the sense that it is “all-online’ and thus environment-friendly, not using any office.

 

  • Hungarian Helsinki Committee. Since its founding in 1989, the HHC has acquired a strong reputation of professionalism and credibility. The HHC’s main areas of activities are centred on protecting the rights of asylum-seekers and other foreigners in need of international protection. It is the only refugee-assisting civil society organisation that is regularly invited to train state authorities and judges in various countries.
Citizens' campaign of the Year
  • Yes Equality – the campaign for civil marriage equality in Ireland was a coming together of three NGO to work collectively for a Yes vote in the marriage referendum organised by the government in March 2015. The challenge was to engage people, particularly young people to the extent that they would see that their vote was crucial to the exercise of democracy.

 

  • #vorreiprendereiltreno is initially a hashtag used to reply to former Italian Education Minister who tweeted about the comfort of high speed trains. Denouncing the lack of accessibility for disabled people in trains, the campaign aims at increasing awareness among people and decision makers of the difficulties people with reduced mobility face when completing even the most basic daily activities.

 

  • eu2014.at. The Youth NGO JEF Austria and Europe Direct Austria launched the EP election campaign eu2014.at and fed the featured blog last year before the elections to the European Parliament 2014. It was set up completely as a peer-to-peer platform for young electives and prime electives. The campaign established a network in which the structured dialogue with young people develops and grows.

 

  • The “100 thousand against the internet tax” was a campaign that was launched to prevent the government of Hungary to implement the proposed internet-tax. The movement managed to achieve this via creating a primarily online community and complimenting this with an extremely strong street presence, making this the biggest demonstration in the modern history of Hungary.

Vote_here_button

In view of its tenth anniversary in 2015, the European Civic Forum launched the European Democratic Citizenship Awards, aimed at promoting citizens’ engagement. The 2015 edition will take place in the light of the 10thanniversary activities, in October in Strasbourg.

Since 2014, these Awards are rewarding outstanding initiatives and civil society stakeholders, who bring in a real democratic citizenship with an innovative dimension and with a concrete impact on their communities’ life, be it at the local, regional, national or European level.

The European Civic Forum defends the notion of a European democratic citizenship based upon the vision of the Council of Europe, which implies a process of ownership and a feeling of belonging.

To do so, four categories of initiatives illustrate this concept of democratic citizenship:

  1. The “Citizens’ campaign of the year” Award aims at supporting raising-awareness or advocacy campaigns which occurred in 2014, with a strong impact on community’s life or on public decisions;
  2. The “NGO of the year” Award recompenses organisations which made a significant action towards the promotion of European values;
  3. The “Personality of the year” Award is given to individuals who had an outstanding contribution to democratic life and to the development of a community or a cause;
  4. The “Media initiative of the year” Award, rewarding participatory initiatives by, for and with citizens who played an active part in reinforcing participation, relaying information and developing the civic space. A particular attention will be paid to initiatives promoting freedom of expression and freedom of media.

An international Jury selected four nominees for each categories, following precise rules of procedure and clear selection criteria.

Here you can find the detailed description for each candidate within the four categories. This is where your participation counts. You are now invited to choose your favorite candidate in each category and so give them a chance to be our 2015 Laureates.

Stay up to date of European Civic Forum news

Suscribe or read our previous Newsletters
Newsletters

Get informed, share, participate

Follow the conversation on social media.

Prix de la Citoyenneté Démocratique Européenne

Initiative média de l'année
  • EAVI a développé et produit une série de courts-métrages sur l’initiation aux médias et l’usage quotidien des supports médias tels que les tablettes et les smartphones. EAVI est une organisation indépendante, à but non-lucratif basée à Bruxelles, qui rassemble les passionés des médias et les personnes ayant une expertise dans l’initiation aux médias.

 

  •  Comics for Equality utilise des outils éducatifs innovants et attractifs: des bandes dessinées produites par des migrants de la deuxième génération, et ce afin de renforcer le dialogue interculturel et promouvoir une société plurielle, qui respecte et met en valeur la diversité entre les jeunes en Europe. A cet égard, le point de vue des migrants est disséminé auprès des jeunes, dans le but de mettre en avant la valeur d’inclusivité.

 

  • Liceulice: ce projet a été lancé (en 2010) par un rassemblement d’organisations civiques et d’individus. Le coeur de son activité repose dans la publication du magazine de rue Liceulice (25 numéros; plus de 80 000 copies), traitant de sujets sociaux, des valeurs démocratique, de la promotion de l’inclusion sociale, du rôle de la société civile et de l’action pour un changement social. La distribution des magazines se fait uniquement par un réseau de vendeurs, composé de membres de groupes marginalisés.

 

  •  VoxEurop est un site d’informations et de débat Européens multilingue et à but non-lucratif. Il a repris le flambeau après que Presseurope.eu ait arrêté de fonctionner en Mai 2014, suite à l’arrêt du financement européen dont il bénéficiait. VoxEurop est dirigé par une équipe de journalistes et de traducteurs profesionnels tous volontaires. Il a une composante originale: la participation citoyenne via des propositions d’articles et des traductions de commentaires.
Personnalité de l'année
  • Lorraine McIlrath a travaillé à NUI Galway pendant une décennie et elle a réussi à développer la participation et l’engagement civiques au sein de NUI Galway, donnant l’opportunité à des milliers d’étudiants chaque année de s’impliquer sur des activités civiques et de communauté. Par ailleurs, elle a obtenu un financement national et Européen pour soutenir le développement de l’engagement civique en Irlande.

 

  • Marsida Bandilli reflète le modèle d’une jeune personne convaincue que l’encadrement commence avec la capacité de communiquer et la responsabilisation de la jeunesse. En devenant un mentor pour des jeunes en volontariat international dans l’organisation Beyond Barriers, elle a eu la possibilité d’apprendre facilement à propos des différences culturelles et d’utiliser ces perceptions pour inspirer de nombreux jeunes à jouer un rôle actif et crucial dans leur communauté.

 

  • Bojana Golubović.  Au cours de l’année dernière, Bojana, professeur de philosophie et formatrice aux débats, s’est engagé localement dans la sensibilisation au problème de la violence au sein de la jeunesse. Ouvrant la voie à diverses méthodes de résolution du problème et plaidant pour la popularisation de la science avec d’autres enseignants et étudiants, elle a inventé une manière alternative d’enseignement.

 

  • Aleksandra Davidovska (connue en ligne comme Helga Rubinstein) a quitté son travail et son domicile pour dédier tout son temps, son énergie, ses réseaux et son argent à l’aide aux réfugiés et demandeurs d’asyles qui transitent tous les jours par la Macédoine. Plus de 1000 personnes de Syrie, d’Afghanistan, de Somalie, d’Irak, etc. traversent quotidiennement les Balkans, subissant de nombreuses situations compliquées, contraires à la dignité humaine.
ONG de l'année
  • Ministarstvo prostora est une ONG serbevisant à promouvoir le « droit à la ville » et à soutenir la participation civique dans les plans d’urbanisation et la gestion des ressources urbaines. Parmi ses activités clés, l’initiative Ne da(vi)mo Beograd a été lancée en 2014, mobilisant des milliers de citoyens contre le projet architectural « Belgrade Waterfront ».

 

  • In Loco est une ONG portugaise traitant principalement du budget participatif, soit un nouveau modèle de gouvernance démocratique, surtout développé au niveau local, dans lequel les citoyens peuvent décider de la manière dont une partie des fonds publics sera utilisée.

 

  • Youthnet Hellas est une ONG grecque visant à favoriser l’engagement des jeunes à différents niveaux, grâce à des activités innovantes. L’organisation soutient la participation active de la jeunesse, le partage d’informations, l’inclusion sociale et la citoyenneté active dans la société. L’organisation innove dans la mesure où elle est entièrement numérique et donc écologique, puisqu’elle ne dispose pas de bureaux.

 

  • Hungarian Helsinki Committee. Depuis sa création en 1989, le Comité Helsinki hongrois a acquis un professionalisme et une crédibilité solides. Ses thèmes de prédilection sont centrés sur la protection des droits des demandeurs d’asile et des autres étrangers ayant besoin d’une protection internationale. C’est la seule ONG d’assistance aux réfugiés à être régulièrement invitée à former les officiels publics et les juges dans différents pays.
Campagne de l'année
  • Yes Equality – la campagne pour le mariage pour tous en Irlande est issue d’un rassemblement de trois ONG, décidées à travailler en commun pour un Oui lors du référendum organisé par le gouvernement en mars 2015. Le défi principal a été de mobiliser les jeunes notamment, en leur démontrant que leur vote est primordial dans l’exercice de la démocratie.

 

  • #vorreiprendereiltreno est initialement un hastag utilisé pour répondre à l’ancienne ministre de l’Education italienne, qui avait twitté à propos du confort supposé dans les trains du pays. Dénoncant le manque d’accessibilité pour les personnes handicapées dans les trains, la campagne a pour but de sensibiliser davantage les citoyens et les politiques aux difficultés rencontrées par les personnes à mobilité réduite dans des actions du quotidien.

 

  • eu2014.atL’ONG de jeunesse JEF Autriche et Europe Direct Autriche ont lancé la campagne eu2014.at pour les élections européennes et ainsi alimenté le blog dédié en vue des élections de mai 2014. Celui-ci a été conçu entièrement comme une plateforme « peer-to-peer » pour les jeunes électeurs. La campagne a aidé à mettre en place un réseau au sein duquel le dialogue structuré entre jeunes s’est développé.

 

  • La campagne « 100 000 contre la Taxe Internet” a été lancée en réponse au projet de Taxe Internet proposée par le gouvernement hongrois. Le mouvement a réussi à forcer les officiels à faire marche arrière, notamment en créant d’abord une communauté en ligne et ensuite en mobilisant une forte présence d’activistes dans les rues, ce qui en a fait la plus grande manifestation dans l’histoire moderne de la Hongrie.

Vote_here_button

En préfiguration du dixième anniversaire de sa création en 2015, le Forum Civique Européen a lancé le Prix européen de la citoyenneté démocratique, visant à valoriser l’engagement citoyen.

Depuis 2014, ce prix vient récompenser chaque année des initiatives et des acteurs de la société civile qui font vivre une vraie citoyenneté démocratique, ayant une dimension innovante et un réel impact sur la vie de la communauté locale, régionale, nationale ou européenne.

Le Forum Civique Européen défend ainsi une notion de la citoyenneté démocratique européenne basée sur la vision du Conseil de l’Europe, soit en tant que processus d’appropriation et sentiment d’appartenance.

Pour cela, quatre catégories d’initiatives illustrent ce concept de citoyenneté démocratique :

  1. Le prix de la « campagne citoyenne de l’année » visant à récompenser des campagnes de sensibilisation ou de plaidoyer déroulées en 2014 avec un fort impact sur la vie de la communauté ou l’action publique ;
  2. Le prix de « L’association de l’année » visant à récompenser des organisations qui se sont illustrées à travers un projet visant à promouvoir les valeurs européennes ;
  3. Le prix de « La personnalité de l’année » visant à récompenser des individus qui ont eu une contribution remarquable à la vie démocratique, au développement d’une communauté ou d’une cause;
  4. Le prix de « l’initiative média de l’année » visant à récompenser des initiatives collaboratives par, pour et avec les citoyens, ayant joué un rôle actif dans le renforcement de la participation, à la diffusion d’informations et dans le développement de l’espace civique. Une attention particulière sera portée aux initiatives soutenant la liberté d’expression et de la presse.

A travers ce prix, le FCE souhaite mettre en lumière les initiatives qui proviennent d’une communauté et qui mettent en avant le vivre-ensemble, la justice sociale et l’innovation démocratique.

Un Jury international a sélectionné quatre nominés par catégorie, en se basant sur des critères de sélection transparents et des règles de fonctionnement pré-établies.

Vous pouvez trouver ici la description détaillée, candidat par candidat, pour les quatre catégories. C’est désormais à vous de choisir parmi les nominés celui/celle que vous souhaitez voir comme lauréat de l’édition 2015.

Se tenir informé de l'actu du Forum Civique Européen

Inscrivez-vous ou relisez nos Newsletters précédentes
Newsletters

S'informer, partager, participer

Poursuivez la conversation avec nous sur les réseaux sociaux.