ECF president nominated in the European Citizen’s Prize Chancellery

The Bureau of European Parliament unveiled the composition of the new European citizen’s prize Chancellery, in a meeting on 13 March 2017.

Since 2008 the Parliament awards the European Citizen’s Prize every year to projects and initiatives that facilitate cross-border cooperation or promote mutual understanding within the EU. The prize, which has symbolic value, is also intended to acknowledge the work of those who through their day-to-day activities promote European values. Each year, the Prize is awarded to people (maximum of 50) or groups in regard to the suggestions of members of the European Parliament.

A new Chancellery, the governing body for the issuance of the European citizen’s prize, is nominated at every start of a new term of the European Parliament and at every mid-term.

The composition of the current Chancellery:

Chancellor: Sylvie GUILLAUME, vice-president of the European Parliament

Four vice-presidents of the European Parliament: Ryszard CZARNECKI, Pavel TELIČKA,  Ildikó GÁLL-PELCZ, Dimitrios PAPADIMOULIS

Two former presidents of the European Parliament: Hans-Gert PÖTTERING and Enrique BARÓN CRESPO

Two distinguished figures: Jean Marc ROIRANT, president of the European Civic Forum and of Civil Society Europe and Luis Alvarado MARTINEZ, president of the European Youth Forum

Stay informed about our activities

Register to our newsletter or read the past ones
LEt's go!

Get informed, share, take part

Continue to discuss with us on social media